SBU Chapter of the National Academy of Inventors Honors New Members, Young Academic Inventors

The Stony Brook Chapter of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI) got together on May 2 for its ninth annual meeting and induction ceremony. The Stony Brook University innovation community joined to honor new NAI-SBU chapter members and two outstanding early-career researchers receiving the 2024 NAI Young Academic Inventors Award.

This year’s event provided a unique opportunity to also honor the SBU inventors who received 2023 patents. This was made possible by the SUNY Research Foundation and Intellectual Property Partners (IPP).

President Maurie McInnis sent her message of congratulations, noting that “it certainly is a pivotal time in history to be an inventor. But it’s an especially great time to be an inventor at Stony Brook.” She went on to say, “The inventors in this room today are set to make discoveries that will impact the direction of history.”

Sbu nai 2024 inventor pereira
Nivea Pereira De Sa receiving her Young Academic Inventors Award.

“It’s a truly exciting time for innovation at SBU,” said Sean Boykevisch, director, IPP, and executive director, NAI-SBU chapter, in his opening remarks. Nina Maung-Gaona, senior associate vice president for research, development and partnership, highlighted the role that the NAI-SBU chapter plays in the process of supporting inventorship and developing the SBU innovation community. Extending her congratulations to the SBU inventors, she shared her appreciation for the creativity, intellect, passion, and persistence that drive inventions and change reality.

“This year’s Annual Meeting of the NAI-SBU chapter clearly demonstrated the vigor and warmth of the community of academic inventors, created at Stony Brook University campus, together with IPP staff, patent lawyers and potential entrepreneurs. Also, the special recognition of academic inventors who had US patents issued in 2023 by the SUNY Research Foundation with nice plaques added joy and honor to this community,” said Iwao Ojima, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and president of the NAI-SBU chapter. “Furthermore, It is very encouraging to see the continuous emergence of highly talented Young Academic Inventors who will become the future leaders of this community and NAI.”

Sbu nai 2024 kovarovic inventor
Brandon Kovarovic receiving his Young Academic Inventors Award.

Five SBU inventors were invited to join the NAI-SBU chapter this year for their leadership and innovation in their research areas. They have numerous patents for their original and unique research in medicine, radiology, electrical and computer engineering, and biomedical informatics. The chapter also welcomed two honorary members and two senior members in recognition of their support and contributions to the development of the SBU innovation community. Paul Sanberg, president of the NAI, provided a video message congratulating the new members and virtually leading the pinning ceremony.

The NAI-SBU chapter announced the names of two early-career inventors who were receiving the Young Academic Inventor Award 2024. This year’s awardees were Brandon Kovarovic, Department of Biomedical Engineering, and Nivea Pereira de Sa, Department of Microbiology and Immunology. Later this year they will present an overview of their research during the Young Academic Inventors Symposium.

The NAI mission is “to enhance the visibility of academic technology and innovation; to encourage the disclosure of intellectual property; to educate and mentor innovative students; and to translate the inventions of its members to benefit society.” The NAI has more than 4,000 individual members and over 200 member institutions throughout the world.

The Stony Brook University chapter of the NAI was established in 2016, and prides itself in fostering the Stony Brook inventor’s community, and in increasing visibility of the Stony Brook innovations and research both nationally and internationally. Today, the Stony Brook University NAI chapter includes 125 members.

Congratulations to:

New members of the National Academy of Inventors
Alexander Dagum, Department of Surgery, Stony Brook Renaissance School of Medicine
Petar Djuric, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Andrew LaBella, Department of Radiology, Stony Brook Renaissance School of Medicine
Adrian Howansky, Department of Radiology, Stony Brook Renaissance School of Medicine
Joel Haskin Saltz, Department of Biomedical Informatics

Honorary Members
Michael Brew, Esq., Attorney at Law, Carter DeLuca & Farrell
David Hamilton, Director, Ecosystem Growth & Impact, Economic Development

Senior Members
Fu-Pen Chiang, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Anurag Purwar, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Young Academic Inventor Award winners
Brandon Kovarovic, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Nivea Pereira de Sa, Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Related posts

The latest On Social Media

Article Categories

Subscribe to SB Matters