Four SBU Researchers Win 2020 Young Academic Inventor’s Award

Michael Ferdman

Michael Ferdman

The National Academy of Inventors, Stony Brook University Chapter (NAI-SBU) has awarded the 2020 Young Academic Inventor’s Award to Michael Ferdman, Adrian F. Howansky, Peter Milder and Priyanka Sharma.

Michael Ferdman, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science (PhD 2012, Carnegie Mellon University, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Research Assistant 2008-2012, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland) won the award “for his inventions on the hardware accelerators for deep learning and the system design for servers and memories.”

Adrien Howansky

Adrian Howansky

Adrian F. Howansky, PhD, Medical Physics Resident, Department of Radiology, Stony Brook University Renaissance School of Medicine (PhD 2019, Stony Brook University, Biomedical Engineering) won the award “for his invention of new flat panel imagers involving multiple X-ray conversion materials.”
Peter Milder, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (PhD 2010, Carnegie Mellon University, Postdoctoral Researcher 2010-2012 in Electrical and Computer Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University) won the award “for his inventions of optimized hardware designs for efficient signal processing and machine learning.”
Peter Milder

Peter Milder

Priyanka Sharma, PhD, Research Scientist, Department of Chemistry (PhD 2014, CSIR-National Chemical Laboratory, Pune India) won the award “for her inventions leading to the development of nitro-oxidation method to extract nanocellulose from raw biomass, which drastically decreases the consumption of energy, chemicals and water.”

The winners presented a short lecture of their invention at the Young Academic Inventor’s Award Symposium via Zoom on May 20, 2020. They will be honored with a certificate and a $1,000 check each at one of the NAI-SBU Chapter and Office of Technology Licensing and Industry Relations joint meetings to be held in Fall 2020. 

Priyanka Sharma

Priyanka Sharma


The NAI-SBU was established in 2016 to recognize innovation and invention. Membership includes a track record of academic innovation including inventorship with at least one issued patent from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Members should enhance the visibility of university technology and academic innovation; encourage the disclosure of intellectual property; educate and mentor innovative students; and translate the inventions of its members to benefit society. Inventors truly should be recognized for their imagination and accomplishments, and called upon to share their special translational talents within the university and the wider community.

The NAI-SBU Chapter established the Young Academic Inventor’s Award in 2017 to encourage younger inventors. Candidates are carefully evaluated in several stages by a panel of reviewers from the NAI-SBU Executive Committee.

For more information, visit the website.

Related posts

The latest On Social Media

Article Categories

Subscribe to SB Matters