Dr. Dorothy Lane Receives 2023 Ronald Davis Special Recognition Award

She Has Excelled in a Career Centered on Prevention in Women’s Health and Cancer

Dorothy Lane, MD, MPH
Credit: Jeanne Neville, Stony Brook Medicine

Dorothy Lane, MD, MPH, SUNY distinguished service professor; vice chair of the Department of Family, Population and Preventive Medicine; and associate dean for Continuing Medical Education in the Renaissance School of Medicine at Stony Brook University, has received the 2023 Ronald Davis Special Recognition Award from the American College of Preventive Medicine (ACPM). She is a founding member of the faculty of Stony Brook’s medical school, which she joined in August 1971.

With approximately 2,000 members, the ACPM is composed of board-certified preventive medicine specialists devoted to saving lives, fostering healthier communities and improving healthcare systems across the country. The ACPM administers the Ronald Davis Special Recognition Award annually to an individual who has made exceptional contributions to the field of preventive medicine.

Dr. Lane is a decorated physician and a fixture in the field of preventive medicine. She has spearheaded numerous research initiatives dedicated to advancing preventive medicine practices, particularly in the areas of women’s health and cancer screening. As founding director of the Stony Brook Residency Program in Public Health and General Preventive Medicine, she has mentored 142 medical practitioners. Dr. Lane has also published more than 200 articles in peer-reviewed journals.

One of Dr. Lane’s leading initiatives while at Stony Brook was her role as principal investigator of the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute Women’s Health Initiative Center (WHI) since its inception in 1994. Stony Brook Medicine was one of 40 national centers — and the only one based on Long Island — that conducted the landmark WHI study of the major causes of morbidity and mortality among postmenopausal women. She was principal investigator of a series, spanning 30 years, of National Cancer Institute–funded research projects focused on improving public and physician breast and colorectal cancer screening rates. Dr. Lane also directed one of the five initially funded Centers for Disease Control and Prevention colorectal cancer screening demonstration programs, which covered the cost of colonoscopy screenings for uninsured and underinsured health center patients in Suffolk County.

Dr. Lane is a past president of the ACPM and served as chair of the American Board of Preventive Medicine and president of the Association of Teachers of Preventive Medicine. She was a member of the Board of Directors of the national Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education, and a member of the Board of Directors of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education.

The Ronald Davis Special Recognition Award is named after the late Ronald Davis, MD, the first preventive medicine physician to serve as president of the American Medical Association. The award was first given in 2009 to former Surgeon General Dr. David Satcher. For a list of previous winners see this link.

Related posts

The latest On Social Media

Article Categories

Subscribe to SB Matters