Class Notes


Asif Alidina ’07 established EXAM Transport & CO LLC, which was profiled earlier in 2015 on Bloomberg Business.
Madeline Augustin ’05 was a guest speaker for the National Society of Black Engineers SBU Chapter event “Yes! I am an Engineer.” She is technical lead engineer materials process & physics engineer at The Boeing Company.
Aimee Brunelle ’95 received the National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA) College/University Committee Award: 2015 Head Athletic Trainer of the Year (Community College). She is also the president of the New York State Athletic Trainers’ Association.
Donald Davidson, Esq. ’80 joined the international law firm of Greenberg Traurig, LLP as a securities litigation shareholder in its San Francisco office.
Rachael Doukas ’12, ’14 launched the Arthur Alarm App, available on the Apple App Store. The Arthur Alarm app was developed by Doukas Media Inc., a digital marketing agency founded by Rachael.
John Marco Lopez ’07 will be directing his second feature film this October in the Hudson Valley called “The Hudson Tribes.”
Paul Minoff, Esq. ’94 was named to the 2016 Best Lawyers in America list in the area of commercial litigation. He is a shareholder and a member of the Fort Lauderdale commercial litigation team at the firm of GrayRobinson, PA.
Barry Ritholtz ’89 is featured in an interview on The Evidence-Based Investor, “The man with the big picture – an interview with Barry Ritholtz.”
Ginger (Xingjia) Tang ’14 was chosen by the Knowles Science Teaching Foundation as a member of the 2015 Cohort of Teaching Fellows.
Christine Varghese ’13, on the team representing American University Washington College of Law, recently won the 2015 Peter James Johnson National Civil Rights Trial Competition.

Baaba Blankson ’09, ’11, ’13 was one of twenty students nationally to be awarded the American Medical Association’s Minority Scholars Award.
Erin D’Eletto ’04 joined St. Joseph’s College in Patchogue as assistant dean of military and veteran services.
Rose Marie Dunphy ’93 won the Judge’s Choice Award from Dan’s Papers 2015 Literary Prize Contest for her essay “The Love of Your Life.”
Eric Engoron ’14, ’15, Matt Lagueras, ’15 and Tom Rothamel, PhD ’02, ’04, ’08 received an alumni award during the 20th Anniversary of the Multimedia Lab Reception, part of the Department of Computer Science and Career Center CS Tech Day 2015.
Bernard Fialkoff DDS ’80, president and founding sponsor of Foundation for A Drug Free World, planned an international convention on drug abuse.
Timothy Finnegan, Esq. ’10 joined the law firm of Goldberg Segalla as an associate in its Workers’ Compensation Practice Group in Garden City.
Jeffery Mordos ’79 was elected chairman for the Young Adult Institute (YAI) Board of Trustees.
Kailash Raghuwanshi’s ’10 latest business in Indonesia, Express Bike Wash, was featured in an article TechinAsia.
Reza Raji ’86 won the 2014 CEA (Consumer Electronics Association) Innovation Entrepreneur Award – Executive of the Year.
Saleena Subaiya MD ’11 was recently selected to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC’s) new class of Epidemic Intelligence Services (EIS) officers. Only about 60 EIS Officers are selected each year from a highly competitive national candidate pool of medical doctors, veterinarians and PhD recipients.
Stephen Tobak ’78, ’79 is pleased to announce his new book Real Leaders Don’t Follow: Being Extraordinary in the Age of the Entrepreneur and his new blog, “”
Michael Yen ’11, ’13 is manager, clinical performance data at Weill Cornell Medical College, Division of Managed Care.

Joseph Antonelli ’09 was featured recently in “Big Ideas SUNY,” the blog of the State University of New York. He is the assistant director of the Mayor’s Office of Management and Budget in New York City.
Tiffany Channer ’07 is one of the top five 2015 ASCP 40 Under Forty honorees. She was recognized for her outstanding achievements and demonstrated passion for the pathology and laboratory fields.
Dr. Rachelle Heller ’64 is a professor of computer science, the associate provost for academic affairs at the George Washington University, Mount Vernon Campus and the director of the Elizabeth Somers Center and Women’s Leadership Program. She was recognized by INSIGHT Into Diversity Magazine for her programming and mentorship.
Dr. Guenter Jonke ’82 has been named the chairperson of the New York State Dental Association’s council on ethics. He is an oral surgeon and a partner of Suffolk Oral Surgery Associates LLP.
Arthur Lambert, Esq. ’82 has joined the firm of Fisher & Phillips LLP as a partner in the firm’s Dallas office.
David Swenson ’83 has been appointed to the newly created position of vice president, marketing and operations at IM HealthScience®, innovators of IBgard®.

Daniel Ahmadizadeh ’14 was featured in Stacey Ferreira’s newly published book, 2 Billion Under 20: How Millennials Are Breaking Down Age Barriers and Changing the World.
Matt Calamia ’10 is a writer and producer for the New York Rangers’ websites. He was featured recently in the SBU School of Journalism alumni newsletter.
Dana Cutolo ’12 has contributed to the Stony Brook Sustainability Studies Program blog about becoming a true trailblazer and starting a business in Madagascar, Ny’Ala Skincare.
Mitchell Fourman MD ’08, ’14 and Christopher Lonardo ’08 launched the venture Coalytics last year and debuted their platform recently. The platform allows physicians and researchers to gather patient IRB subject-reported outcomes using tablets and smartphones.
Richard Murdocco ’10 interviewed Dr. Lee Koppelman for an article featured in the Long Island Press titled, “Face the Future Now, Says Long Island’s Master Planner Lee Koppelman.”
Phil Salathe PhD ’14 competed recently on Jeopardy and won.
Joanne Summer ’81 was featured recently in the Daily Record for her work as a speech pathologist for the Morris School District. She is also one of the chapter leaders for the New Jersey Alumni Chapter.
Dawn Zier ’86, CEO and president of Nutrisystem, is on the cover of the July/August issue of SmartCEO.

Morton Smith, Jr. ’62
John Chin ’73
Verna Venning ’75
Bruce Deitchman, MD ’78
Hope Edwards ’95
Heather Martin, MD ’96

Related posts

The latest On Social Media

Article Categories

Subscribe to SB Matters