32 SBU Faculty and Staff Are Honored with SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence

Thirty-two members of Stony Brook University’s faculty and staff have received State University of New York (SUNY) Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence for 2021 and 2022.

The awards acknowledge the dedication and accomplishments of instructional faculty, librarians and professional staff across all SUNY campuses and encourage the ongoing pursuit of excellence. These programs underscore SUNY’s commitment to sustaining intellectual vibrancy, advancing the boundaries of knowledge, providing the highest quality of instruction and serving the public good.

View photos of the winners below

President Maurie McInnis offered her congratulations and presented the awards to the winners at a luncheon on November 2 at the Bauman Center for Leadership and Service.

“At its core, Stony Brook is defined by its people — the individuals who every day push this university to be all it can be; the individuals who every day help this university nurture creativity, research excellence, connection, inclusivity, and scholarly curiosity,” McInnis said. “A university is no more and no less than the people who comprise it, and looking around today, at the recipients of the 2022 Chancellor’s Awards, it’s clear that this speaks volumes to the successes of Stony Brook and the value of its mission.”

Stony Brook’s winners were honored in seven categories: Faculty Service, Librarianship, Professional Service, Scholarship and Creative Activities, Teaching, Classified Service and Adjunct Teaching.

The winners are:

Faculty Service
Todd R. Griffin
Kevin M. Moriarty
Madeline A. Turan

Jessica Koos

Professional Service
Mary Jean Allen
Jin Bentley
Firat Coskun
Paula Di Pasquale-Alvarez
Jacqueline M. Donnelly
Kim A. Knoll
Lori Lyons
Smita Majumdar Das
Marie Turchiano

Scholarship and Creative Activities
Lisa Diedrich
Jeffrey N. Heinz
Jin Wang
Erez Zadok
Ismail Zahed

Jiwon Hwang
Susan G. Larson
April F. Masten
Douglas S. Pfeiffer
Kaveh Sadigh

Classified Service
Laura Coiro
Alexander Jardine
Kiersten Weis

Adjunct in Teaching
Michele Giua
Jennifer Lyons Carter
Leslie Marino
Patricia Maurides
Jessica J. Mitchell
Joanne Souza

Related posts

The latest On Social Media

Article Categories

Subscribe to SB Matters