18 SBU Faculty and Staff Receive SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence

campusEighteen of Stony Brook University’s esteemed faculty and staff were honored with 2016-17 SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in five categories: Faculty Service, Professional Service, Scholarship and Creative Activities, Teaching, and Adjunct in Teaching.

“The strength and impact of SUNY is powered by expert faculty and staff from throughout our 64-campus university system, and the 361 individuals receiving this year’s Chancellor’s Award for Excellence are the best among the best,” said SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher. “They are at the top of their game in providing their institution and students with the highest quality of instruction, professionalism and support. It is my great honor to celebrate the achievements of this year’s recipients.”

This honor provides system-wide recognition for consistently superior professional achievement and encourages the ongoing pursuit of excellence. Additional information about the awards program for Faculty Service, Professional Service, Scholarship and Creative Activities, and Teaching is available here. Additional information about the Adjunct in Teaching is available here.

The following Stony Brook faculty and staff received Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in:

Faculty Service
Paul Fisher, Professor, Pharmacological Sciences
Bonita London-Thompson, Associate Professor, Psychology
Laszlo Mihaly, Professor, Physics and Astronomy
Wendy Tang, Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Professional Service
Elizabeth Gasparino, Assistant to the Director, C.N. Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics
Kenneth Gladky, Director of Operations, Visualization Lab IT Manager, Computer Science
Karen E. Kernan, Director, URECA Program
Anthony J. Olivo, Jr., Senior Technician, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Darlene L. Prowse, Assistant to the Chair, Asian and Asian American Studies
Chandrani Roy, Assistant to the Chair, Materials Science and Engineering
Toni Sperzel, Assistant Dean, Graduate School and Director, Center for Inclusive Education
Robert T. Watson, Assistant Professor, Pharmacological Sciences

Scholarship and Creative Activities
Dmitri E. Kharzeev, Professor, Physics and Astronomy
Ute Moll, Professor, Pathology
Warren Siegel, Professor, C.N. Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics

Monica F. Bugallo, Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Adjunct in Teaching
William S. Bernhard, Lecturer, Mathematics
Margot Whittemore Palermo, Instructor, College of Business

Related posts

The latest On Social Media

Article Categories

Subscribe to SB Matters