16 Students Recognized at Annual SoCJ End of Year Celebration

a student, flanked by two SoCJ administrators, receives a journalism scholarship
Photo credit: Brittney Dietz

In April, the School of Communication and Journalism (SoCJ) hosted its annual End of Year Celebration, recognizing graduating students, scholarship recipients and other high achievers. 

In addition to awarding scholarships, for the first time the school recognized students for their achievements across academic programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels. 

“I’m so proud of how our school has grown in recent years. We’ve added degree programs, enrolled more students, and streamlined our programs to ensure that our students graduate on time and ready for their next chapter,” said Laura Lindenfeld, dean of the SoCJ and executive director of the Alda Center for Communicating Science. “Of course, each and every one of these students also put in a lot of hard work — in classes, internships, on research projects and extracurricular activities — to get you here today. Congratulations to each of them!”

In the past four years, the school added two undergraduate programs and two graduate programs, and this year is the first year significant populations of students will graduate from three of the four. 

The students recognized were:

Sydney Corwin
Amon Scholarship

Rafael Fonseca Cruvinel
Ayscue Scholarship
Journalism without Walls Scholarship

Emma Ehrhard
Student Leader in Community Engagement Award

Gabriella Ferrara
Outstanding Undergraduate Capstone Award

Viola Flowers
DeWan Scholarship
Buskin Award for Campus Journalism
Journalism without Walls Scholarship

Clare Gehlich
Conway Scholarship

Tim Giorlando
Spirit of SoCJ Award

Anthony Johnson
Student Leader in Community Engagement Award

Jeremy Kuri
Klurfeld Scholarship
McGinnis Scholarship

Hailey Lantigua
Student Leader in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award

Marie Lolis
Schreiber Scholarship

Lori Saxena
Schreiber Scholarship

Kaitlyn Schwanemann
Chernow Scholarship
Crosson Scholarship

Skylar Sena
Aronson & Virag Scholarship

Jenna Zaza
SoCJ Rising Star Award

Related posts

The latest On Social Media

Article Categories

Subscribe to SB Matters